Through the years I have found that I have no ambition.  I have never been pressured into going to school or meeting the right man. Yeah, it was expected of me to get good grades and did so without fail.  Except in Physical Education, but that’s a different story.

My parents were not the type to say “You must go to this college” or “You will marry this particular person because he has a good upbringing and has money”. I’m glad for that, although sometimes I think a little pressure would have helped me to improve myself more.

I understand my parents wanting me to be just me and happy for it, which I am. However it has come to my attention that I have no ambition, no great urge to just do something with myself. I am sailing through life as it is. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not a bad life, it’s just I have not realized what I want to do with it.

It’s the age old question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”. My answer is, I don’t know. I am still trying to figure that out. I know things that I can do that will probably advance my career, yet I choose not to take that path. I think I’m afraid of success, or maybe it’s the failure. If I don’t go after something and it just falls in my lap, that’s great. If I go after something and it is a complete failure, can I handle the disappointment?

Look at me, I am married, have 2 beautiful children, but I still haven’t figured out what I want to be when I grow up. Don’t be like me and just sail through life without any ambition or goals. Find some before it’s too late and you realize that your life has just passed by without you doing anything.

