My daughter comes to visit my husband and me on a routine visit (god that makes her sound like some kind of convict!) and says she has something to tell us. So my mind is racing thinking of all the possibilities. First thought, they’re getting married, although he should be there for this as well. Hmmm…that can’t be it. My mind starts going through all of our conversations in the past few months…and then…CLICK!!! Pregnant.

Yep, I was right. I was also excited. I mean she’s 21, living with her boyfriend, it was bound to happen. Good thing is I know he will be there for her and the baby (girl). They don’t plan on getting married quite yet. It’s okay though. They know that we are here to support them in any way we can.

Then I started thinking back again, only further. I came into her life when she was 11 years old. I have had a hand in raising her since then. In my eyes and my heart she is my daughter, and I have always let her know that. As long as she was happy about this, I was happy for her. I remember playing the Pokemon card game with her. Playing other mindless video games, okay the games we picked aren’t exactly mindless…but they were still fun. Teaching her how to catch a softball, how to hit a volleyball, and not be afraid of it. It all seemed so long ago…

Yes, I will be grandma at 34. Which is not a bad thing for me, I love kids, especially if I don’t have to go through the whole birthing process again. Not that it was a bad experience the first time around, I just don’t think my body could handle it and this point in my life. Having back pain (sciatica-hmmm did I spell that right???), carrying a child for 9 months, and then giving birth on top of that, just does not sound promising to me. Now that I am completely of subject, lets get back on it, shall we?


I found out my daughter is pregnant and I will be a grandma. I was totally excited, and was kind of leary on how my husband was taking things. Which he took surprisingly well. I guess he figured she’s an adult, it’s okay now. It’s not like she’s still in high school and having a baby. Good thing is, her boyfriend is totally there for her and can’t wait for the birth. That is going to be one spoiled little girl! Especially with 3 grandmas! Of course I might be the more desciplined one of the 3 of us, but that’s okay too. Oh yeah, it’s a girl! So far, anyway. You know how that goes, but they’re pretty sure it’s a girl

A month and a half maybe, and we will have a new edition to the family. I can’t wait.  In case you were wondering how we never noticed that she was even pregnant, she hid it very, very well.  She’s petite, but like me she constantly wears baggy clothes.  Honestly, if she hadn’t said anything, we would have never found out until the day of birth.  Pregnancy agrees with her, She looks beautiful.

