I was working on my computer last night, trying to get things done for school today.  My goal was to completely finish my course.  My 7-year-old daughter is playing away and she starts talking to me.  Unfortunately I was only half listening to what she was saying and I felt bad about it.  I decided to put the laptop aside for a bit and rest my brain to see what my daughter has to say, and to make sure she finished all her nightly duties.  You know, brushing teeth, washing face, changing to jammies (which she usually does as soon as she gets home, so not a problem there).  Not to forget the constant, “Are you done playing with that? Please, put it away if you are”.

I’m watching her play and she’s talking about her friends at school while playing.  Then she looks up and asks, “Wanna see how fast I can blink my eyes?”.  I said, “Sure”. She starts blinking her eyes really fast, it was so cute.  Then for some reason the blinking was attached to some unknown force that made her tilt her head forward.  The more she blinked, the more her head would tilt.  I’m watching her in amazement, and wondering how long is she going to keep this up.  Just as that thought passed, she hits her head on the edge of the mattress.  Of course, being the person that I am, I laughed hysterically.  It was so funny.  She started laughing too.  I told her that she makes me laugh.

She made my mood just a little better.  Correction, she makes my mood better.

